The sewing calendar 2010 project

Simple Needle Case

Posted on: January 27, 2010


Tutorial by: Marina Roussel, Wink Designs
blog: winkdesign.typepad.com

I feel sometime stupid … really ! The tutorial was great and easy to follow. I needed a needle case, so it could have been the best project ever! I don’t know what I was thinking but I decided to go with a heavy fabric that looks like leather instead of a medium-weight fabric … The result is bulky and it would have been much nicer with a thiner fabric.  Also, i have an issue with my sewing machine: the lower thread is not working properly . I tried to fix it but nothing seems to work …. You will see in the pictures, it’s like the tension being poorly adjusted .. if you have an idea, tell me!

For this project, I wanted to use the same fabric than my desk padded bumper. I totally forgot to take pictures of the preparation step, I’m sorry!

the inside :

result - open

the outisde :

result - close

What do you think? 🙂

4 Responses to "Simple Needle Case"

You’re doing a great job. I’m very envious – I don’t get a lot of sewing time. You’re getting so much more use out of your calendar!

Thank you Anne !

Moi je trouve le résultat plutôt très bien après avoir lu tes difficultés! Mais je me dis que le problème venait peut être de l’aiguille qui n’était pas adaptée pour un tissu si résistant et si épais! Avais-tu changé d’aiguille? J’ai eu un peu le même genre de problème quand j’ai cousu des sets de table en toile cirée!

oui, j’ avais mis une aiguille pour denim et tissus epais … En plus ce n’est pas la premiere fois: j’ai essaye avec du tissu fin, epais, avec des aiguilles differentes, avec du fil de marque differrente .. rien 😦 J’espere que ce n’est pas un defaut technique …

Leave a Reply

